In other words – “Once In A Lifetime”

A few months ago, I found myself tripping over all of these words, thoughts and phrases that have held power and meaning to me for much of my life. So I began to write or rather take dictation as I listened to what was emerging from the soul of my very being and named that collection of musings; In Other Words. As I awaken to truth, I look at what I have always seen, feel what I have always felt and know what I have always known; all from a deeper place than ever before. I pray that this process continues all of the days of my life… In the midst of all of this, I was too often struck by words from the closing scene from Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities; “It is a far, far better thing that I do than I have ever done before….” Today really was worth the wait.

Have you ever had one of those moments in life where everything just felt right? I know in this life, I have not had many of these chances so I cling breathlessly to the ones of which I am most aware. Here goes… Recently I was invited to an event to learn about a business opportunity. As I sat, I could hear the quiet voice of skepticism (yup I said it) creeping into my thoughts saying, “Have you lost your mind? What are you doing here? You don’t belong here.” So I posed a question to my soul, what am I doing in this room? In a split second, it is like I was propelled into that room from wherever my thoughts had taken me. All of a sudden the colors were brighter, the sound was rich and full and I said to myself, “I am here”. I listened from the space of my deepest intent to the voices of the presenters and my soul connected to the depth of their intentions, dreams and hopes and I quickly realized that these were regular everyday people just like me. Yet somehow they were special and know that it was hard to for a moment think of myself as special. So I took a deep breath and got over it. I moved to the edge of my seat as if to be closer to them. These people had come through moments where they wanted their lives to take a different path and they moved beyond just wanting it. Their desires turned to dancing, their hopes turned to jubilation all because they did a simple thing; put their will to work on their behalf. They set something beautiful and powerful in motion. As I listened I realized something that I have never said anywhere but the quiet recesses of my heart. I too was tired of the near misses, the almosts, the oh so close, could have, should have and oh God I wish I would have moments. I wanted to knock one out of the park, belt out a note (on key) that would bring the listening crowd to their feet and so on. These people were just like me and I was just like them, I wanted to know more of my goodness and stand in the light of my greatness and share that with others. For all of my life time, the once in a lifetime verses and visions no longer have my permission to be illusive, evasive and out there beyond me. From that moment on I began to command the once in a life time things to show themselves… In doing so, I realized that the love that I wanted had not left me; the chances that I want do not lie with someone else to build and bestow upon me, that dream that is so clear in my mind; really is mine and is birthing in me. For once it was not that the closer I get to my dream the farther away it seemed. Everything was right there; I became excited by the realization of who I am and all of the possibilities that holds. There I was, here I am and everything I needed to do was in my grasp. So I reached for it… No, I reached it and that’s not the end of my journey nor my story. The best is yet to come; I know this…

That night, that room, that opportunity, that invitation all brought me this life, this love and the realization of my dream to do something cool and profound as only I can do it. No one gets to package it, process it, analyze it, approve it and give me the fragments that they think I deserve. Today, I am the manifestation of the exciting expression of love that I have been created to be. In other words, I know that those once in a life time moments exist far more frequently than their name suggests. All you have to do is call them into being and command (yes command) them to show themselves. In that very command; you can find the best thing that you have ever known; the powerful intention of your own words. The opportunity that I was in that room to engage seemed to pale in comparison to the penultimate opportunity for once (more frequent than the name…) to be more of myself. I felt my soul emerge from the desolation of the past; my purpose rose up from the ashes of indecision and my joy broke forth beyond the pain of loss.
Beloved truth is, you too can emerge from whatever. You may be saying how do I get there? I want you to hear my heart and be gentle with yourself; there is no there way out there; you are right where you are needed; you are already are here and it is the realization of that still small truth that will change your vision and your vantage point. So with that, whatever goodness that you quietly hold in your heart for yourself; go ahead and make it so! Swing for the fences, soar beyond the edge, love for love’s sake, laugh out loud, dance your own dance, see yourself and let the world see you stepping out from the shadows and into the marvelous light. Go ahead, show up, show out and show yourself more of yourself.  Your once in a lifetime has never been a futuristic diatribe; it is in this moment the manifestation of the YOU that you have always been moving towards becoming. For once and for all; this is your time!  Your once, twice… In a Lifetime is right now!  Do something as amazing as you are! 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

