Really Big Love!

A funny thing happened on my way to the office this morning.  The journey was much more calm and peaceful that I have ever known it to be; as mine was the only vehicle on 436 from the outskirts to I-4 just before 600 this morning.  The quiet stillness was so becoming as moment by moment I realized that the day for which we have been waiting was unfolding before us.  A birth had occurred in me, in you and the world.  Change is here, manifested in the shape and form of humanity, nature and all of creation.   This thought brought not only a smile to my face, but joy to my heart.  I realized that behind and within all of the stuff, the challenges, the pain, the loss, the happiness and the achievements, that there is something more meaningful; there is love; no, there is big love!

With that thought music began to flood my soul and I began to sing my own holiday Mash-up or extended remix of everything from:  Welcome Christmas from Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas, to Kool and the Gang’s Celebrate! and Michael Jackson’s Remember the Time and the big finish was a verse of Oh Come All Ye Faithful:

Yeah, Lord, we greet you, born this happy morning;

Jesus, to you be glory given;

Word of the Father, now in flesh appearing

O come, let us adore him, Christ the Lord.

 I know what you’re thinking, “Seriously?  Really Beasley?”  Yes, seriously and really!  It felt good to greet what for me is a happy day with clarity of vision, depth of joy and arms extended wide enough to reach out to embrace the birth of goodness in and around me.  In fact that is my wish for you this day amid the good food, the tense moments, the long drives, the big game, the stillness, the flying frenzy of wrapping paper and even through the quiet disappointments is that you know today a new kind of love, a love that is more and bigger than you can imagine. In my family, we celebrate birth as light of life, as hope, as love and in that presence; we make some noise by singing, dancing, telling stories and being the love that we are.  Know this, today something magnificent, good and divine is born in you, so let’s get this party started!  For the newness that is born in each of you; Happy Birthday!

And so it is that when it comes to love; go big or go on because the truth is my friends is that love is absolutely the only thing that is greater than everything!  I wish you big love today and every day.

Merry Christmas,

Kathy

Image

About Kathy Beasley

Hello Friends, I am Kathy and I am fully committed to helping people discover the truth of who they are by employing my gifts of teaching, speaking, writing, leading and meeting them where they are on their journey. In my role as a Unity Minister, I have found that the greatest work that Spiritual Communities can do in the world has very little to do with those gathered around the table with us, it is for those who exist beyond our walls, liturgy, table and awareness. I am not here to make you comfortable, I am here to challenge you by disturbing your peace. With the help of others, I employ a passionate perspective of utilizing the unconventionality of technology and public theology to help reach out beyond the traditional and social aspects of "church" to those who could benefit from a positive and practical message of hope and peace. Thank you for taking this journey with me and please know that your presence helps make me who I am. This is my story… What’s yours?

Leave a comment